Sunday, November 07, 2004


Symphony No. 1 in D minor, ``Titan''. Scored for 4 flutes (3rd and 4th doubling piccolo), 4 oboes (3rd doubling English horn), 3 clarinets (3rd doubling bass clarinet), Eb-clarinet, 3 bassoons, 1 contrabassoon, 7 horns, 4 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, tympani (2 players), triangle, cymbals, bass drum, tam-tam, and strings.

1 I. Langsam. Schleppend
2 Blumine: Andante (original second movement)
3 II. Kraftig Bewegt
4 III. Feierlich und Gemessen, Ohne zu Schleppen
5 IV. Stumisch Bewegt

Gustav Mahler was born in Kalischt, Bohemia on July 7, 1860. He received his diploma on June 1878 from the Conservatory of the Society of the Friends of Music in Vienna. Mahler’s First Symphony was premiered by the Royal Hungarian Opera Orchestra in Budapest. On May 18, 1911 Gustav Mahler died at the age of 51. Gustav Mahler is most widely known for his 10(?) symphonies, though he did write many other pieces, some of which include: a piano quintet, a sonata for violin and piano, and some lieder.

Yoel Levi was born in Romania, but grew up in Israel. He studied at the Tel Aviv Academy of Music and the Jerusalem Academy of Music. He also studied with Franco Ferrara, with Kiril Kondrashin in Holland. He became an assistant to Lorin Maazel at the Cleveland Orchestra for six years, serving as Resident Conductor from 1980 to 1984. Mr. Levi has made over 40 recordings with different orchestras. He has also made many appearances as guest conductor with many of world renowned orchestras some of which include Cleveland, London, and Paris. Mr. Yoel Levi is now music director emeritus of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra.

“Since its first concerts in 1945, the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra has grown from a local youth group to become one of America's major orchestras, noted for its impressive list of Grammy winning recordings as well as the excellence of its live performances. The foremost cultural organization in the southeastern United States, it serves as a cornerstone for artistic development in the region. The Atlanta Symphony Orchestra performs more than 200 concerts each year to a combined audience estimated at over half a million. In addition to its 72 concert main subscription season, the ASO presents light classical concerts, family concerts, annual summer festivals, outdoor summer pops concerts and free concerts in city parks. The "ASO Around Georgia" program was launched this year, which brings the Orchestra to Albany, Tifton, Perry and Rome.”

Cecylia Arzewski - Concertmaster
William Pu - Associate Concertmaster
Jun-Ching Lin - Assistant Concertmaster
Willard Shull - Assistant Concertmaster Emeritus
Carolyn Toll Hancock
Martha Reaves Head
John Meisner
Alice Anderson Oglesby
Lorenz Ottzen
Christopher Pulgram
Carol Ramirez
Juan Ramirez
Denise Berginson Smith
Kenn Wagner
Lisa Wiedman Yancich

David Arenz - Principal
Sou-Chun Su - Associate Principal
Jay Christy - Assistant Principal
Eleanor Arenz
Sharon Berenson
David Braitberg
Noriko Konno Clift
Judith Cox
David Dillard
Raymond Leung
Ruth Ann Little
Thomas O'Donnell
Ronda Respess
Sanford Salzinger
Karen Stovall
Frank Walton

Reid Harris - Principal
Paul Murphy - Associate Principal
Amy Leventhal - Assistant Principal
John Detrino
Enid Jones
Robert Jones
Marian Kent
Catherine Lynn
Lachlan McBane
Heidi Nitchie
Ardath Weck

Christopher Rex - Principal
Daniel Laufer - Associate Principal
Dona Vellek Klein - Assistant Principal
Joel Dallow
Jere Flint
Karen Freer
Kathleen Kee
Larry LeMaster
Brad Ritchie Paul Warner

Ralph Jones - Principal
Gloria Jones - Associate Principal
Jane Little - Assistant Principal Emeritus
Michael Kenady
Michael Kurth
Douglas Sommer
Thomas Thoresen
Randolph Ujcich

Christina Smith - Principal
Robert Cronin - Associate Principal
Paul Brittan
Carl David Hall

Carl David Hall

Jonathan Dlouhy - Principal
Yvonne Powers Peterson - Associate Principal
Deborah Workman
Patrick McFarland

Patrick McFarland

Laura Ardan - Principal
Ted Gurch - Associate Principal
William Rappaport
Douglas Smith

Ted Gurch

Douglas Smith

Carl Nitchie - Principal
Elizabeth Burkhardt - Associate Principal
Z. Mark Smith
Juan de Gomar

Juan de Gomar

Brice Andrus - Principal
Susan Welty - Associate Principal
Thomas Witte
Richard Deane
Bruce Kenney

Christopher Martin - Principal
Mark Hughes - Associate Principal
Joseph Walthall
Michael Tiscione

Colin Williams - Principal
Stephen Wilson
Donald Wells

Donald Wells

Michael Moore - Principal

Mark Yancich - Principal
William Wilder - Assistant Principal

Thomas Sherwood - Principal
William Wilder - Assistant Principal
Charles Settle

Elisabeth Remy - Principal

Peter Marshall
Beverly Gilbert
Sharon Berenson

Robert O'Brien - Principal
Steven Sherrill - Assistant
Frank Walton
John Wildermuth

Information about orchestra taken from
For reviews of this CD, click this