Sunday, November 07, 2004


Ludwig van Beethoven was born in Bonn, Germany and baptized December 17, 1770. He had music published by the time he was twelve. In his late teens, he studied with Haydn, Schenk, Albrechtsberger, and Salieri. During this early period, he composed most brilliantly on his own instrument, piano sonatas and concertos, the first two symphonies and six string quartets. It was around this point in his life, where Beethoven learned that his hearing impairment was incurable and that it was bound to worsen. He was very depressed for a long time but over came this. In this middle period, he wrote pieces such as Symphonies 6-8, a few more piano concertos, sonatas and chamber works. After this period (around 1812), he was also severely depressed from his deafness but came out of this as well to write his more prolific music. His later period included seven piano sonatas, Symphony No. 9 and some operas in which the public was amazed. He died in early 1827 after receiving enormous public recognition as a composer, the first composer of his time to have this honor.

The Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
The Concertgebouw Orchestra began in 1888 and soon became one of the most established orchestras in Europe. In 1988 it received the Royal title. Today, the orchestra includes 120 of the best musicians from around the globe. Strauss, Mahler, Debussy, and Stravinski have all conducted the orchestra and other virtuosities like Bartók and Rachmaninoff have performed their works with the orchestra.

Pinchas Zukerman
Pinchas Zuckerman has been a recognized artist for over forty years. He was born in Tel Aviv in 1948. These days, he is working as the Music Director of Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra. ( He plays with the premier orchestras of the day. For more information go to

Alfred Brendel
Alfred Brendel was born and grew up in Yugoslavia and Austria. He is currently living in London and has been since 1972. Apart from playing the piano, he writes poetry and essays in German, his native language. He is very well known for his interpretation of certain composers especially Beethoven, Schubert, Mozart and Liszt.

Claudio Arrau
Claudio Arrau was born in 1903. He grew up in Chile and was recognized as a prodigy from very early in his life. He had his Carnegie Hall debut when he was 20 years old on October 20, 1923. He had 30 dates in the United States that year and only played five of them. He played again at Carnegie Hall in 1941 and this time he said he felt “ready and mature.” The hall was completely full. One of the best reviews he has received was from the London Sunday Times: “One regards him as a sort of miracle; the piano is the most machinelike of instruments except the organ - all those rods, levers, little felt pads, wires, no intimate subtle human connection with it by breath, tongueing, or the string player's direct engagement with speaking vibrations. But Arrau makes it live, like God teaching Adam on Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel roof; liquid, mysterious, profound, alive.”

O.K. Ya'll are right. the pieces on the CD are as follows:
1.) Symphony No. 5 1. Allegro con brio
2.) Violin Romanze No. 2 in F major
3.) Bagatelle in A minor "Fur Elise"
4.) Overture No. 3
5.) Sonata No. 14 (Moonlight Sonata) 1. Adagio Sustenuto
6.) Symphony No. 6 "Pastoral"
7.) Sonata No. 8 2. Adagio cantabile
8.) Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat major 3. Rondo