Thursday, August 26, 2004

Intervals and Scales

An interval is the distance from one note to another. There are many different intervals that can be used. Here are most of the intervals that may be found in any piece of music:

Unison C-C
m2 C-Db
M2 C-D
Aug2 C-D#
m3 C-Eb
M3 C-E
P4 C-F
Aug4 C-F#
P5 C-G
Aug5 C-G#
m6 C-Ab
M6 C-A
m7 C-Bb
M7 C-B
Oct8 C-C8
The main types of intervals are the major, minor, unison, augmented, and diminished. These intervals are what make up the different major and minor scales.
Scales are made up of seven different notes, the first and last being the same but in a different octave. There is only one type of major scale and three types of minor scales natural, melodic and harmonic. There are also Jazz scales and Pentatonic scales all of which can be explained by clicking the link.
If you have any questions or corrections please tell me in the comments!!!
UPDATE!!!!!!!!! The definition of augmented and diminished according to Tonal Harmony is that an augmented interval is made by making a perfect or major interval a half step larger without changing the numerical name(ex: P4--Aug4)
A diminished interval is created by making a perfect or minor interval a half step smaller without changing its numerical name(ex: P4--Dim4)